top of page
Search

Bucket List Before 30

Updated: May 11, 2020

I have mixed feelings of getting older. I have thoroughly enjoyed my twenties and it has given me confidence within my own skin. I am happy with the person I have become, and I am very lucky for the life I lead every day. However, getting older has always brought with it expectations and certain targets.


I have always thought you shouldn’t have bucket lists as you can always do anything and aim for challenges at any time. But I thought creating a list now during the craziness we have found ourselves in would help focus my energy and help me focus my thoughts once we can leave our houses again! This way I can hold myself accountable for these actions and if I don’t reach them, I can roll them over to my thirties.


1. Visit Disneyland

I have always wanted to go to Disneyland but have put it off due to wanting to go with children or friends. When dancing I auditioned and passed my audition for Disneyland, but it never worked out to go there. Before thirty I would like to finally go and see what everyone talks about.

2. See Hamilton

Due to my love of theatre, I want to accept the cost of the ticket and just book to go watch this phenomenal show in theatre as I feel it could leave the theatre one day and I won’t have witnessed the production.


3. Take a Friend Holiday

I would like to take time out of work to visit somewhere with friends. This would be a really lovely memory as it’s something I tend to put off due to everyone's availability. I need to pin people down and make sure we do go somewhere this year altogether.


4. Read 10 books

I always buy books that take my interest but never dedicate enough time to read them, or don't finish them once. I am fascinated by war stories, subjects around education, books on the mind, and real-life stories.


5. Pass Sign Language Course

I have always been fascinated by sign language as I started learning it when I was younger when I found out had been born deaf. Over the years I have learned songs from YouTube in sign language and taken an interest to remember certain common phrases. I would like to commit to an online course and pass Level 1 British sign language.


6. Run my fastest 10km

Running is something I have never found the love for but have tried to commit myself to. I end up starting with the aim of a specific goal in mind, such as raising money or general fitness but then end up tailing off. I would like to commit myself to a year of running to reach my personal best over a 10km distance.


7. Learn a new hobby

Throughout my life, I've always had many hobbies that I've enjoyed and found satisfaction with. I admire when others show me what they have done with their hobbies and often find it inspiring. I would like to start a brand new hobby or something I gave up after one lesson because I thought I wasn’t ‘good’ at it. Possibly an art club, pottery, Ultimate Frisbee, netball, or guitar? Do you have any ideas?


8. Tattoo(s)

I'll admit, I've watched A LOT of documentaries about tattoos and binge-watched ‘Ink Master’ countless times. I love the art behind them but have always felt reserved about having one myself in case I change my mind. However, I have wanted one for a long time... so I have decided I will commit to an appointment and get the design I want.


9. Travel to Asia

Again, I have always wanted to visit Asia but it's never been the right time. When I visited Australia in 2018 it made very eager to travel more and see other countries. I intend to save money and my next big trip will likely be to Asia!

10. Volunteer every month

This is something I am currently working on. I have always tried my best to volunteer and give up some of my time if someone needs it. I have been a school governor for a year now and used to read to children at a local school. I want to step this up further and volunteer on one weekend every month for the elderly or people in need. Please do let me know if you know of any charities that need help?


11. Attend a Music Festival

Camping has always been a turn off for me when it comes to Music Festivals, but I think I need to suck it up and accept that part of it. I want to visit somewhere like Glastonbury or another large music event as I am constantly listening to music everywhere I go.


12. Say Yes to something that scares you

I'm always looking into booking rock climbing, zorbing, bungee jumping, plus more! People grow the most when outside of their comfort zone and I know that I seek to be in control, but I need to push myself to say ‘yes’ to adventures more.


13. Go Skiing

Similar to above, I've always said no when offered to go on a skiing holiday due to the thought of the risks of skiing and potential injury. Being a dancer, it wasn’t practical to risk seriously injuring myself for the sake of trying a new sport. However, now dance is not my full-time income anymore and therefor I would now like to give skiing a go.


14. Attend the Olympics

I enjoyed watching the Olympics thoroughly on TV and take pride in Great Britain's performance (or their performance in any kind of sporting competition!). The Summer Olympics 2024 will be held in Paris. This is very close to the UK so I'm going to aim to get hold of some tickets, make the trip and see one of the most exciting sporting events out there!


15. Host a Dinner Party

I enjoy being a host and at home, I get a lot of enjoyment from cooking dinners for people or putting on special occasions. I hope to host my very own dinner party to thank my close friends and family in my very own flat/home one day. I would like to cook everything from scratch and make everyone feel good for all the support they have given me over the years.


16. Get my Own Pet

I am obsessed with pets, especially dogs. When in Secondary School I used to do agility with my dog, Jack, and have missed having animals since moving to London. When and if I get enough space of my own, I want to buy and look after my own dog. Especially now, with the potential of being inside for the next few months due to COVID-19, I miss my dogs and the outdoors even more.

17. Buy Louboutin heels

This was something I always wanted as a little girl growing up – I used to believe that if you can walk around in these heels then in life you ‘had made it’. When becoming a dancer, these were the shoes worn by girls in my year group and often reinforced the association between success and the beautiful red-bottom shoes. I want to, one day, have a pair of my own, strut around and feel like I've made it!


18. Watch Something at The Globe

Again, I've heard such great experiences about The Globe and have always wanted to go. They show productions, exhibitions, and tours in the summer - definitely something I'd love to see once the summer months are here!


19. Write a Blog

This is something that I started this year after many years of individuals telling me to just ‘do it’. I have always been self-conscious of individuals thinking why has she started a blog? But I've come to realise that blogs are, of course, for audiences to read, but also allow for an individual to reflect on their thoughts and feelings. I hope this blog will let me do that while still giving something interesting for people to read.


20. Plan 30th Birthday

Again, I have realised that everyone has their own preferences for events. Some want the biggest parties and others want something small at home. Whatever I might choose I want it to be something I will remember and I want to be surrounded by friends and family who have helped me reach this milestone.


What’s your next challenge? Please do let me know if you have completed any of these or if you have challenges for yourself this year as I would love to hear about them. Let’s share ideas during this period when we are being locked down in our homes. ‘Everything that is done in this world is done by hope’ Martin Luther King.

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page