top of page
Search

Dear Year 9 Students,

If I could rewind time and tell my fourteen-year-old self-anything it would be that everything does work out. Problems are not as large as they seem when in the moment ‘like I can’t make it through my course work but actually looking back I was doing just fine really!’ remember sharing a concern does really make a difference – if you are struggling you know where to come – remember we’ve been through this before and we are here for you all!


At Secondary School I found it very challenging to open up to people, as I thought I could deal with everything myself and struggled with some of the choices I had to make, like knowing what is best for my future? A very hard question to answer at your age!

You will find going through KS3 and KS4 can be challenging and you will face many hurdles. Sometimes you may feel you might not see the light at the end of the tunnel you are in. But remember times always changes and around the corner is a new adventure. GCSE’s are the ticket you need for that future – whatever it is you want to achieve!



Always try to listen to advice. I was very lucky as a teenager as I had a very supportive role model of my Nan who taught me to widen my options. My Nan told me to spend any spare time I had trying out clubs, visiting places and pushing myself to achieve new challenges. This is when I decided to take up different forms of dancing including tap and contemporary classes.

You might think why should I try out a new club? Or why should I spend time doing that during my holidays? But you might be about to discover a new activity that could be your career, or you might go somewhere that you want to travel to one day.

At thirteen I discovered the passion to dance. I went on to win forty medals over the next couple of years but most importantly it kept me focused and busy when being a teenager. It helped me learn to focus towards goals that seems far away and to push through barriers put in front of me to not do well in this competitive industry. It also gave me a chance to work along side peers and to use my creative skills to produce new routines from scratch.


Remember, it’s okay to not be sure or to seek advice for your options and future ahead.

Go with your instincts on picking your options for GCSE and push yourself in the subjects you enjoy. Pick options that will give you a variety of options going forward.

My Nan was wise to tell me to pick subjects for GCSE and A level that keep my options open and allow me to pick different jobs encase dance fell through. I picked Computer Science, Spanish, Geography and Drama as my options at Secondary school for GCSE. And then went on to study Maths, Child Care and Dance for A Level while travelling around in shows. I chose these options to ensure I had options in the future as I was unsure what I wanted to do. I choose child care at A level as I it was something I was interested in not knowing I would go into working with children in the future.


Overall, Employers or people in the wider world will always value hard work, manners and being disciplined.


When I was in Year 9 and sitting where you are now, I decided I wanted to be a dancer. I pushed myself in every aspect of dance outside of school possible. It was a very bumpy road to get into dance school and I had many family members and friends who did not think it would be possible.

After evenings of searching ‘how to become a dancer’ into google and many applications later I received several offers from Dance Colleges in London. I had to believe in what I was doing as many of my close relationships did not believe me moving to London at seventeen was the ‘right’ thing to do.

Remember the options you take are personal, there is not a right or wrong choice.


Whilst I was there, I questioned the decision I had made. You will have times when you might think can I do this GCSE? Or have I picked the right GCSE’s? You will have to dig deep and work through it day by day, then week by week which will teach you a lot about yourself.

People say time flies, but it honestly does. You will be sitting here in no time and you will be nervous to collect your certificates for your GCSE’s to find out your results.


A couple of years ago, I decided to call my agent and turn my back on being a dancer for the foreseeable future. It was the first time I could recall all the memories of my family and friends telling me what career I should do in the future. I found it very difficult to be in a situation where I didn’t know what to do or what skills I had to work another job as I hadn’t got a degree on paper in the most conventional way. Again, I rang my Nan and she muttered the words ‘it will work out just keep looking’.


After time, I realised how much I had a passion to work with children which took me to apply for a tuition centre. When applying and starting my new career path it was very scary and I was very worried I wouldn’t be right for this venture.


If I was to tell my younger fourteen old self, I would be standing here having been in London for ten years and would be working as a Year 9 Manager I would not have believed it. It’s good to remember we will always be learning and there are always opportunities to learn new skills when we change our mind.

When I changed career paths it taught me no matter what we do if we push ourselves in anything, we will always learn skills that are transferable.


My lasting messages to myself at fourteen and to you all would be to believe in yourself and accept support when making decisions. Try to listen to others as it will teach you to appreciate what you have. Your journey is personal to you and no matter whatever you choose to do, if you try your best and work hard you will be successful.




55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page