top of page
Search

Old Fashioned.

Updated: Jun 21, 2020

People say ‘age is just a number’ which I have totally believed all my life. I have grown up always being ‘little’ and struggled to be heard within a popular career for females (dance). Just because you are small or look younger than expected doesn’t mean you aren’t able to voice your opinion. Throughout my personal life and when out and about I have always been told the common phrase ‘you’ll understand when you are older’ or ‘don’t worry about it you’re young still’. These phrases have always stuck with me to never present to anyone.


I was truly gifted to have the presence of my Nan in my life and I am sure this won't be the last time I mention her on my blog platform. She was truly my best friend throughout her eighties and I would reach for the phone or go round to tell her anything. There was never a time she would use the common phrases but instead sit down and answer the question in detail of what I had asked. She was always conscious to show me how to complete tasks not just tell me. She would always share our family history or concerns with me even if I wasn’t taking it all in. My Nan no matter where we were would always have the time of day for everyone and never judge anyone. To the occasions where she would approach a family 'living on the streets' as they had dropped their toy on the floor or speak to a ‘posh’ suited man in the queue in the supermarket. My Nan taught me there’s always a reason why people are the way they are, and we should take the time to find out.


When I was sixteen, I dated someone who was two years older than me. When this ended I went on to date someone for four years who was six years older than myself. I have always found comfort and friendship with ‘adults’ or people that are older than myself. I don’t know if this is for any significant reason or because they are kind caring people who I find friendship with.


When I started working at Explore Learning in 2017 it was a great experience to learn about myself and the strengths I have. I made friends with many parents who have given me words of wisdom and allowed me to share my journey so far. Parents at Explore Learning taught me to speak aloud and not hide just because I am ‘young’ and no matter what age we are we will always be learning from others. Sometimes I feel if we aware of something we are already halfway there to learning it. They taught me I can have 'words of wisdom' no matter my age and I don't need to seek to be older to be valued. They taught me we can believe in each other and feel empowered when others have success.


I have always worked with children from when I can remember, and I have always tried my best to let them have a voice. I have walked into tricky situations at camps where children have been named ‘the naughty one’ or ‘they are playing up’ and just giving them a platform to talk has calmed the situation down. I believe we are not born to be ‘naughty’ or ‘angry’, but these are emotions we learn, and they have to stem from somewhere. When a student acts up, a lot of people will continue to speak over them, whilst giving them an option to speak and listen to how they feel is surely what we should be doing?


If you know you have used the phrase ‘I’ll explain when you're older’ why are we using this? Isn’t it our job to teach and educate our children, students, the next generation otherwise if we don’t give them the tools to understand then they will use it in the wrong way? I feel when mistakes are made, we should look at ourselves first and think have we taught them the right way. Not just told them but showed them how to make the right decisions. I made mistakes including arguing to carry a cake which indeed I dropped on the floor. My Nan scooped it up then used icing to patch it back together without saying a word. I made mistakes and signed up to online marketing scams and my Nan said, ‘it will be fine how much do we owe?’ My Nan was the first to teach me characteristics like resilience to get back up or to always be respectful of everyone’s decisions. We should value everyone’s skills and opinions of what they bring no matter what era it has developed from. Don’t get me wrong we should definitely respect our elders included as they are pretty amazing too!


I believe no matter your age, we are here to listen and to learn from others. I try to value everyone by listening to young children, adults, or the elderly. I do not believe we are valued by ‘age’ but by the qualities we share and the opportunities we make happen. I believe the elderly are very quick to assume it’s the ‘younger generation’ when we should be here to teach them or listen to what is wrong. Or the young are very quick to assume the ‘elderly’ won’t listen when we should value everything they have to say as it could result in fewer bumps in the road for us and they are trying to give us advice.


So when you are out and about today please do take the time to spot someone who could do with a helping hand or someone who just needs you to ask if they are okay.

‘Pass the truth to the next generation. Teach them early what we learn late.’


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page